DeSoto Municipal Election – Saturday, May 1st

DeSoto, TX - The City of DeSoto will hold a Municipal General Election on May 1, 2021. Here are the candidates:

City Council Place 62021 election

Versie Murchison

Crystal Chism

Entaune Tyson

City Council Place 7

Kenzie Moore, III

Lettia Hughes

All members of the City Council run by place but are elected at large. This means that they must reside in the district for which they are seeking election. However, all registered voters who live anywhere in DeSoto may cast ballots for that position. The Mayor may reside anywhere within the City limits and is also elected at large. If you would like more information on the City Council districts, a map is available on the City’s website at under the Government tab at the top of the page.

Important Municipal Election Dates:

  • Last day to register to vote ‐ April 1st
  • First day to early vote ‐ April 19th
  • Last day to receive an application for ballot by mail (ABBM) in the Dallas County office (not postmarked) ‐ April 20th
  • Last day to receive federal post card application (FPCA) ‐ April 20th
  • Last day to Early Vote ‐ April 27th
  • Election Day ‐ May 1st
  • Last day to receive ballots by mail is Election Day by 7 pm ‐ May 1st

Early voting takes place from April 19th to April 27th at Disciple Central Community Church (DC3), located at 901 North Polk Street, DeSoto, Texas. DeSoto registered voters can also vote at any Dallas County Early voting location. Please check the City’s website for a list of other Dallas County voting sites. For more information on the upcoming election, visit our website at, scroll down and follow the link to Municipal General Election information.