Region’s first federally designated Economic Development District elects officers

Ferris, TX - The newest Economic Development Director in Ferris, fresh from Nebraska when he took his position with the city back in May, has been tapped to sit on the board of the newly formed North Central Texas Economic Development District Board.

Sean Overeynder, was recently appointed by the NCT Council of Governments as a board member for the North Central Texas Economic Development District Board, a federally designated economic development district.

Overeynder said this will be a great benefit for the citizens of Ferris.w sean overeynder

“The North Central Texas Economic Development District is a federally designated economic development district by the U.S. Department of Commerce, Economic Development Administration (EDA),” Overeynder said. “The establishment of this Economic Development district for North Texas will bring greater access of EDA funding to local government projects and it is through the EDA that funding is available for infrastructure improvements, based on job creation.”

Prior to coming to Ferris as the Economic Development Director, Overeynder served the citizens of seven communities in western Nebraska as the Community Development Director.

Overeynder will take his new seat on the board at the January 5, 2018 board meeting. He will be representing a city with a population of 2500 to 500. Currently there was no board member named on the board in a city with this population.

“I am proud to be appointed to serve on this board, representing the economic interests of the citizens of Ferris,” Overeynder concluded.

Other local positions include Kassandra Carroll, Economic Development Coordinator for the City of Waxahachie, who was elected NCTEDD Secretary.

There are currently 26 board members in addition to three officers with Marty Nelson, Director of Economic Development, City of Ennis and Warren Ketteman, Director of Economic Development, City of Forney also on the board.

The North Central Texas Region, which covers 16 counties (Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Erath, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell, Tarrant, and Wise counties) and their cities, school districts and special districts, was designated as an Economic Development District by the U. S. Department of Commerce, Economic Development Administration (EDA).

Over the past two years, economic development stakeholders in the region from cities, counties, education institutions, chambers of commerce, economic development corporations, private sector, and workforce development boards have worked together, in conjunction with the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG), to satisfy the requirements to be designated as a district, including the development of a required Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) for the region.

Source: Ellis County Press

Our Sponsors

abglogologo2017 joomadminlogin doslogo large